I write because of my sheer egoism. I am a serious writer who wants to be remembered. I am a serious writer who wants an active, attentive, appreciative audience. I am a serious writer who wants to impact others based on the sounds that my words create.

I write because of my aesthetic enthusiasm. It gives me pleasure to be stylistic with my hyphens, and commas, and conjunctions. It gives my heart content to witness creative line breaks that illuminate the negative space of words on a page.

I write because of my historical impulse. I have a desire to see things as they are. I have a desire to reflect on my past, my present, and predict on my future patterns. I have a desire to uncover naked truths.

I write because of my political purpose. My attitudes gift me choice. My worldviews highlight perspectives. My values encapsulate meanings. My beliefs provide hugs that comfort.

p.s. Last evening I read one of George Orwell’s essays called: “Why I Write,” and the title intrigued me. But even more so, his reasons or purposes (which are bolded) as to why people write are also interesting.So here’s to purposeful writing!

Leave a Reply

