For Christians, Advent is a time to prepare for the arrival, the 2nd coming, of Jesus Christ on Christmas. While I was in church with my family on Sunday, post returning from my trip in Florida, the priest described Advent in a number of ways. He said advent is like waiting for the yellow and red on a traffic light to turn green. He said advent is like waiting for your mother to apply her make-up, get dressed elegantly to look good for herself and her husband. He said advent is patience. Advent is being kind. Advent, in sum, is all a part of love, because as always, love conquers all.

p.s. I had a great time at church with my family. It had been a month and a half since I had gone to mass with them since I haven’t been living home. And for the first time in years, I actually listened and heard and focused on the words the priest was relaying. It was a good Sunday. So, here’s to being patient enough to hear and to listen.

Leave a Reply

