Was different. I was interviewing children about the pumpkins they entered in the pumpkin carving test. They were blushing at the mere thought of being on television. I was interviewing the owner of the bakery about his take on an event that brings such a wonderful, loud, celebratory crowd. I was interviewing a mother, holding her baby, whose unicorn costumes were complementing each other. Before I knew it, I was interviewing people in the real world–not only on campus. I was doing my outro, my ending scene in 1-2 takes, and reaching out to a number of people with different perspectives. I was reaching people from different age groups, backgrounds, interests, and genders. I was doing what I’ve been learning to do as a reporter thus far: to be confident and to hear from all kinds of voices.

p.s. Halloween was a good different this year. I was working, but it was really enjoyable connecting with people off campus. So, here’s to approaching my ideal reporter-self and conducting my first package off campus!

2 thoughts on “Halloween This Year

Leave a Reply

