In this world,

the struggle with being Latina

is that the questions and comments eat at your skin and brain cells

The struggle with being Latina

is that your melanin may be just enough

to self-identify as Latina

but your thin, straight hair which contradicts with the opposite curly hair of your sister

may not be just enough

to self-identify as Latina

The 2nd language

in which you speak, write, and read

won’t be fluent in Spanish

It isn’t enough

for some.

The struggle with being Latina…

You, I, am Puerto Rican.

You, I am Guaynese.

You, I am American.

p.s. On Friday, one of my colleagues sent me a podcast I interviewed for called, Afro LantinX Experience. Listening to the various voices and perspectives pushed me to think about my own identity. The podcast dabbled into the misunderstanding of identity, and encouraged people to become more educated about what it means to be a part of more than one culture, and to encompass more than 1 identity. So here’s to self-indentifying with all the cultures you breed from, and helping others to understand what exactly that means!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

