so proud

A couple of moons ago, I expressed how much my trip to Thailand meant to me to my sister. Ever since then, I’ve wanted to travel even more, and I encouraged my sister that if given the opportunities at the right time and right place, she should take them to travel too. She always said that traveling did not interest her. Fast forward a couple of years later, she beams about opportunities to travel. One, to go to Ireland with her culinary department, and two, to go to California to promote buildON, the organization she went to Senegal, Africa with. She’s changed incredibly.

p.s. So proud of Kate! She finally gets it. With age comes wisdom. Hoping we can make these trips happen for her. Here’s to being a proud sis!

p.p.s. Can’t believe Jaden is going to be in his last year of Elementary School next year. Time is soaring! He’s changing a lot, too.

The hindsight of yesterday

acquired knowledge. history. time stamp. memories. identity. outlook.

p.s. I finished reading The You I’ve Never Known yesterday. Hopkins’ free-verse novels always give me goosebumps. Her characters give me life. Her poetry reminds me I’m only human. The last poem created had this line: “blessed with the hindsight of yesterday.” Simple, yet gorgeous part of the stanza. Here’s to hindsight!

I thought of this

I wish we could all be given the gift

to extract the anger

from the pit of our stomachs.

I wish we could all be given the courage

to throw that fury out the window

and

transform that feeling

into something

beautiful.

I wish we could see this transformation

in the sky

from ugly

to a soaring wonderful

as if

by the process

of reincarnation.

p.s. On Thursday I read a poem in Hopkins’ The You I’ve Never Known that wrote about anger so perfectly. Here, the main character battled the word, and the feeling, yet, also came to an understanding (ironically). Here’s to what I wish we could do with anger.

 

my momma always tells me

to speak up firmly, yet professionally

to craft an email carefully

to calm down; some anger is not worth directing or misdirecting

to think clearly

to listen constantly

to do my research properly

to be grateful, to be thankful, wholeheartedly

p.s. I watched Forrest Gump for the 1st time on Wednesday with Joseph. We absolutely loved it! Forrest narrated the story with saying, “My mama always told me.” I wrote this post with the same concept. So, here’s to what your mom always tells you!