red, white and blue rhinestones:

for the island of my grandparents

for the roots that have driven me closer to my home and heritage

for the Spanish language that I adore

for Puerto Rico

red, white and blue:

for what America was when my grandfather from Guyana got here

red and yellow:

for all that Madrid, Spain gave me

for all that I can remember

for how much I loved

for how much I learned

for how much I lived

green:

for my one and only grandpa Tony who misses Guyana everyday in different ways

who always tells me bits and pieces about his home when he can

who left to get away from getting drafted in the war

who is here today

p.s. I finally began decorating my cap on Thursday. It was so special because it happened to be on Senior Toast, an event to cheer on other fellow graduates with a glass of champaign. It was wonderful to see my friends, receive orange roses, and toast to our success as students for the last time. Creating a cap that symbolized the places and people that have helped shape me was the icing on the cake. Cheers to being changed by these people and places and New Paltz forever!

Leave a comment