I am the daughter of two young parents who grew up in the Bronx, New York with roots from Puerto Rico. I am thinking about them. And the cap that still needs its finishing touches, the packing that I need to do to move out completely for the last time, how I can’t wait to see my family: my parents, sister, brother, grandma, godmother and her boyfriend tomorrow.

He is the son of immigrant parents from the Dominican Republic who grew up in Washington Heights. I am thinking of Joseph. He spent the past 4 years working hard in and outside the classroom to make make money, get good grades, and find opportunities with little to no financial support from his family. We spent the 4 years doing our absolute best to push forward, to dream together, to experience life, to accomplish all our goals, and to support each other in our own endeavors.

I know how this all happened: hard work, perseverance, accessible resources, and support systems that we were gifted with — that found us, and that loved us.

But I still can’t believe it.

p.s. On Friday, we were awarded as Outstanding Graduates within our respective departments based on in-depth projects we’ve created and grade point averages. We have received an incredible education, a stellar experience and a bachelor’s degree to document it all. The next day, we walked the stage to claim it all. Here’s to the moment before the BIG moment!

Leave a comment